Planning & Zoning Commission


It shall be the duty of the Planning and Zoning Commission:

  • To consider what can be done to enhance the working relationships as it relates to planning activities between and with, other either public or private agencies, such as Willis ISO, the Houston-Galveston Area Council (H-GAC), Montgomery County, the Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District, the City of Conroe, other Willis citizens advisory committees and commissions, etc.
  • To determine if and when zoning regulations may be beneficial for the city, to propose the boundaries of each zone, and to recommend to the Council approval or disapproval of proposed changes in the zoning plan
  • To make and identify community values and standards, which will guide the development of the city for the future, which may include, but not be limited to: considering what in the community needs to be preserved and enhanced, determining what negative factors in the community should be reduced or eliminated, identifying what tools may be needed to accomplish this, determining what aesthetic qualities of the community are advisable, etc.
  • To make written recommendations to the Mayor and City Council regarding any other phases of community development projects that are beneficial to the citizens
  • To periodically review, amend, and/or recommend to City Council a comprehensive plan for the city, which shall include, but not be limited to consideration of: population trends, land use, housing, transportation and streets, economic development factors, natural resources, community resources and public facilities, public utilities and services, storm drainage systems, parks and recreation facilities, capital improvements,and any other factors that may impact the community and its quality of life
  • To review and analyze subdivision plats and make recommendations to the City Council about accepting or rejecting said plats


The nine members of the commission are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council to serve three-year staggered terms. Commission members must be 21 years old or older, have lived in the city no less than two years, and be a registered voter.

There are currently three vacancies on the commission.